Working Remotely From Tasmania

Can you imagine an even more remote place to work from than Tasmania? I can’t — for now.

tasmania07

Me and Tasmania — Tasmania and me

Last February, I was lucky enough to spend 4 weeks on that “small” island South of Australia’s main land. Yes, I wrote Australia. Tanzania is a very different story. Please stop asking me about life in Africa. 😃

During my time in Tasmania, I worked 4 days a week and had 3 days a week to explore Tassie with my little family — my favorite travel companions.

We changed apartments once to explore as much as possible and therefore stayed 2 weeks in the North of the island, then 2 weeks in the South. Tassie is an island on which you can easily end up in very remote spots, like we did in the North. We stayed in a small cottage in Riana. Our next (human) neighbors were 500 meters away. To get to our house by car, we had to open and close 3 fences to prevent the cows from changing the fields that surrounded our cottage. It’s been a remote dream!

Our cottage in Riana, Tasmania

Moving down to Hobart after 2 weeks almost felt like a shock. People. Cars. Buildings. A city center! Though admittedly, our cottage in Hobart with a view towards Mount Wellington was in a calm neighborhood. Only a few wallabies visited our garden each evening.

That clocks are ticking differently in Tasmania can be seen on dialogues like this one (with Gerke, the landlord of the Riana property):

I: “So how come the street you live in has actually your family name? Is it pure coincidence?
Gerke: “Nah. At one point, Tasmania decided that all roads got to have a name. So someone suggested to give it my family’s name as our house is the oldest in the street.”
I: “And when did that happen?”
Gerke: “A few years ago.”

Makes me wonder if they actually had internet access before they had a road with a name… but I forgot to ask!

Please click through the 2 albums below and read the captions to learn more about our fabulous four weeks in Tassie.

North (Riana and around)

South (Hobart and around)

What other remote work places would you recommend?

My standards would be:

  • a reasonable internet speed
  • the modem nearby, to be able to turn it off and on again if needed
  • an affordable place to rent for work and living (I’m working from home, not at the beach like people tend to think)

If you like this post, you might also like Dancing Butterflies In Tasmania… (also not in Africa!)

5 thoughts on “Working Remotely From Tasmania

  1. Love this post! Funny yet accurate description of my home and such beautiful photos! I’m now living in Europe and playing with the idea of remote work down the track.. maybe it appeals to me so much as I come from a place like this ;) looking forward to reading more of your adventures!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much Emma! I’m happy to hear that you like my post. You are very lucky to come from a remote place like Tasmania. It’s so wonderful to have these big contrasts on one “small” island. I hope you are enjoying Europe as much as I enjoyed Tassie! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: My Fabulous Digital Nomad Workspaces Of The Past Year | Remote Angles of a Digital Nomad

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.