Dangerous Winter Wonderland

Before blogging about the first signs of spring I would like to share some winter photos with you that I took in Germany last year. They depict a weather phenomenon, which is both beautiful and dangerous at once.

Fichtelberg ski lift Germany

Frozen ski lift on the Fichtelberg, the highest peak of the German Erzgebirge

In December, Saxony’s low mountain range (Erzgebirge, East Germany) was wrapped into thick fog layers lasting for weeks. The high air humidity coming along with the fog covered the region’s trees with hoar frost, which built up to a 30 to 40 cm thick ice crust. Needless to say that trees snapped off like matches under the heavy weight.

To avoid accidents, local public services decided to impose a ban to enter the forest above 800 metres. Streets were blocked for days and ski lifts had to shut down when some tree branches threatened to fall on the ropes.

Once streets reopened, we wanted to have a closer look at this newly created winter wonderland and went on a day trip to the highest point of the German Erzgebirge, the Fichtelberg (1,215 m), which looked as stunning as I had never seen it before. Me and my camera(s) got all excited; I could have easily spent the day looking at the most bizarre ice formations, but the cold…the severe cold…

If you like this post you might also like Witnessing Australian Bushfires

6 thoughts on “Dangerous Winter Wonderland

  1. These are stunning pictures. Nature is strange and harsh – I have never seen that thick a layer, even though I’m familiar with the phenomenon here in Sweden as well.

    Like

    • That’s surprising! I imagined even thicker layers in Scandinavia. But I guess timing is all — this German region was wrapped in fog for weeks last year. It’s been a truly amazing sight. I am glad you like my photos :)

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.