Dresden And The Frauenkirche

I was born in a town not far away from Dresden. Back then, the city had no Frauenkirche yet. Or should I say no more Frauenkirche?

dresden03-frauenkirche

Frauenkirche (Church of our Lady)

The history of the Church of our Lady (Frauenkirche in German) is as complex as long. In a nutshell: The church was first built in the 11th century – torn down and rebuilt in the 18th century to offer the growing community more space – surviving over 100 cannonball fires during the 7 Year’s War as well as the May Uprisings during the 19th century – and finally succumbing to the heat generated by over 600,000 bombs that the Anglo-American allied forces dropped on the city during World War II in the 20th century.

The political situation and lack of money in the GDR nipped all intentions to rebuild the church in the bud. Only after the German reunification, a few citizens created an initiative to promote the reconstruction of the Frauenkirche. I always thought they must have been marketing masterminds; or how do you explain that they managed to gather 5,000 members in 20 different countries when there was no internet or smartphone technology available yet?

Rebuilding the church cost 180 million Euro. The biggest part of that money came in through private donations only! The reconstructions started in 1993 and lasted more than 12 years. The idea was to use the original church plans and even as much of the original church material as possible. Approximately 3,800 original stones have been reused and are easy to spot due to their darker colour from weathering and fire damage.

The Frauenkirche reopened in 2005, 60 years after it had been destroyed, and serves as symbol of reconciliation between former warring enemies. Since I had left my home town in 2005 I actually never made it to see the church after its completion. A visit was therefore on the top of my To Do list for this year’s “holidays at home”. I hope you enjoy my photos.

Please also visit my Instagram account for more holiday impressions from Dresden!

dresden03-frauenkirche2

Panorama of the church’s north side and the largest remaining original structure (dark stones) interoperated with the restored work.

dresden03-frauenkirche3

It is not allowed to take photos in the church, but you can take plenty from the viewing platform above the cupola.
Top: View towards the Elbe (river), the famous Semperoper (opera house), Zwinger (palace) and the Kreuzkirche (another recently reconstructed church).
Bottom: typical architecture and colouring of the houses surrounding the Frauenirche.

Dresden Staatliche Kunstsammlung

On the black and white image above you can see a round glass roof on the left side. It’s the roof of the Staatliche Kunstsammlungen, Dresden’s cultural art institution. This is a panorama of the entrance hall.

Dresden QF

Also on the black and white photo above, at the very bottom left, you see the building in which you find the Dresden Tourist Information – offering plenty of tips when you want to visit the Church of our Lady – as well as some fantastic light installations. Look up!

17 thoughts on “Dresden And The Frauenkirche

  1. Pingback: Transiting Bangkok | ae.i travel and photography blog

  2. AMAZING PHOTOS!

    Thank you for visiting my blog today. I appreciate the time you took to stop by. May your day be filled with joy and peace.
    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Photo Essay: South West USA | ae.i travel and photography blog

  4. I visited Dresden in 1993, when the ruins of the Frauenkirche were a blackened stump against the sky, and was very struck by this image…. I can’t remember if it was that year, or when we visited in 2000 that all the bricks from the ruin had been catalogued and numbered ready for use in the rebuild. Very impressive. I must find my images from those trips, your post has reminded me of my visits. :)

    Like

    • I’m glad I triggered your memory. I had such moments in the past and spent hours to go through old travel shots. Enjoy! ;-)
      When you find the photos of your trip I’d be interested to see them. It’s an amazing change; and they still do archaeological excavation around the church – I already said I want to go back in 10 years. The location will look very different once more I guess.

      Like

      • Thanks for responding – I am thinking that I will look out my old slides and scan them ( there will only be a few, in those film days I didn’t take so many shots!) and do a post on Dresden’s Frauenkirche before restoration..

        Like

      • Sounds like a good idea. Yeah, sometimes I miss the old film days! It’s great you can take as many photos as you want without worrying about space to save; but it’s hell of a job to browse them and decide for one to go with…

        Like

  5. Pingback: Dresden’s Miracle in Stone | wordsvisual >>> Please visit Susan's blog to see the remains of the Frauenkirche in 1993 - I'm really happy to have that comparison!

  6. Pingback: Year In Review: 2013 | travel photography and social media for photographers - ae.i

Leave a Reply

