The Feijoa Cake That Was A Lime Pie

Feijoas

I really need to make my peace with feijoas – and I hope this blog post is a first step in the right direction. Three weeks ago, New Zealand’s supermarkets began to offer feijoas again and I had the crazy idea to use them to bake a cake. I was soon to find out how crazy this idea really was.

My first attempt followed this recipe. Never before have I been so little convinced of a home-baked cake. Ever! Dislike! -1 (twice)! Some further research forwarded me to a great blog that actually revolves around feijoas only. In the recipes section I’ve picked the feijoa strudel. Apart from the fact that my strudel did not look like one (my fault), the ratio between dough and filling seemed so wrong that the whole thing came across dry and without much flavor. Not completely discouraged yet I went ahead for try number 3. Turns out I had another crazy idea at this point: I felt like mixing the feijoa pulp with lime juice for more flavor (which was definitely missing in the first two recipes).

Sadly, after two tries by now, I still haven’t found the correct feijoa-lime-ratio. My first attempt resembled a smoothie because of too much lime juice (no bad taste though); and my second attempt suffered from a clear lack of feijoa taste (surprise, I am running out of these fruits). End of story: If you are searching for a feijoa cake recipe that tastes like a super delicious lime pie you are on the right page (wondering how many of you are out there). You are also on the right page in case you are browsing the web searching for desperate wannabe chefs who could need a little advise.

I am probably going to give this recipe another shot using twice as much feijoa pulp and lime zest only (no juice). But this won’t be before I made my peace with these f… ruits.

For the base:

  • 1.5 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 125 g melted butter

Mix everything and cover the floor and sides of your baking dish. Bake the base for 10 minutes in your preheated oven at 180°C.

For the filling:

  • 3 egg yolks
  • 1 teaspoon lime zest
  • The juice of 2 limes
  • The pulp of 6 feijoas
  • 400 ml condensed milk

Mix the egg yolks and the lime zest. Slowly stir in the condensed milk and beat until fluffy (at least 5 minutes). Add the lime juice (or not) and the (double amount of) feijoa pulp.

Pour the creamy mix into your baking dish and bake for 20 minutes at 180°C. Cool everything down to room temperature and store it for 6 hours in your fridge. Serve like this, or with whipped cream and a tiny bit more lemon zest on top. Enjoy!

Please let me know if you have a good feijoa recipe – doesn’t need to be a cake or dessert! Oh, if you thought this could actually be a wonderful recipe for a lime pie you are probably absolutely right. Just skip the feijoas :-)

If you like desserts please read my post “Tiramisu – Treat Of All Treats” (including a perfect recipe – yes I can!).

6 thoughts on “The Feijoa Cake That Was A Lime Pie

  1. I miss Feijoas!! It’s been over 10 years since I last ate one. And drank LP and ate your gorgeous Georgie Pie (I heard it’s no more?) Thanks for the scrumptious recipe. Now to find feijoas in Finland :D Sharon

    Like

    • Awww, does amazon.com not yet deliver feijoas to Finland? Maybe you could go for a lingonberry cake that tastes like a lime pie? :-D Just kidding! I’m sure you’ll like the lime only version. You are right about the Georgie Pies, they are no more; now it’s all about Maketu Pies I have the feeling. L&P is still world famous in NZ. Speaking of Finland, I suddenly crave some cinnamon rolls…maybe a new baking adventure? ;-)

      Like

    • Haha – could be ;-) But I resisted from posting the “end result” because there is no real end result yet. Will do once I found the perfect recipe ratio.

      Like

Leave a Reply

