Mount Eden Rush Hour

Since I am living close to Mount Eden in Auckland it is probably no big surprise that I like to spend my evenings there. I did so during the past three days in fact and captured some typical ‘rush hour moments’. Mount Eden’s busiest time of the day is without doubt the sunset hour (30 minutes before and 30 minutes after the sunset). However, I wasn’t too interested in the sky spectacle during the past three days, but hoped to document the different types of Eden visitors. Why? Because!

  • Walkers, enjoying the various paths across the cone
  • Workers, prefering a green environment to grey office walls
  • Photographers, marching up with all kinds of technology to get that one good sunset shot
  • Tourists, arriving in crammed buses starring like mesmerized towards the West
  • Runners, getting into competition with dogs and cyclists; all enjoying the cooler time of the day

And it is everyday the same procedure – no exceptions!

If you like this post check out Mount Eden Rush Hour 2

7 thoughts on “Mount Eden Rush Hour

  1. Great photos, I like the one showing all the people in silhouette, really capturing the feeling and buzz on Mt Eden and the variety of activity you’d get during rush hour. And I like the one with the lady tapping away on her laptop. Must have a good screen, the sun would probably wash out the screen on my tablet at that hour.

    Like

    • Wow, I am glad the buzz can be confirmed by a local! But just to be fair I have to mention that even during the busiest time of the day Mount Eden can still feel quite remote. Best prove are all those picnickers hanging out every evening. I wish I had a photo too but didn’t feel like interrupting romantic ongoings :-)

      Like

  2. Great photos! Mount Eden is one of my favorite spots in New Zealand. Haven’t been there for a sunset, but can imagine the crowd. Do love people watching in popular/scenic places to see the same things you described. :)

    Like

    • Mount Eden is definitely my Auckland favorite, so I’m happy you like the photos. I probably need to find a good English word for “watching people in popular places” (for future posts, you know) ;-)

      Like

  3. Not a bad view for a rush hour! Great to see that you are still enjoying yourself in Auckland.
    I’ve signed-up to get your news straight to my inbox…read you again soon!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Mount Eden Rush Hour 2 | travel photography and social media for photographers - ae.i

Leave a Reply

